Is African Academy an accredited/registered institution?

Any and all Education and Training Providers must be registered and accredited by the relevant regulatory bodies. African Academy has complied with all applicable legislation.  We have applied to the Department of Education for registration as a private FET institution; we have been provisionally accredited by the Umalusi Council for Quality Assurance in General & Further Education & Training (accreditation number FET00397PA). We are also accredited by the Construction SETA (accreditation number 5P5544).

Is African Academy registered with the Department of Education?

As required, African Academy has applied to the Department of Education for registration as a Private FET Institution (in 2006). The DoE is currently processing the applications received from all the Private FET Institutions and we should receive our registration number shortly.

Is African Academy accredited by a SETA?

Yes, we have been awarded accreditation by the Construction Seta, which is the SAQA registered ETQA (Education & Training Quality Assurance Body) for our draughting sector. Our accreditation number is 5P5544.

What is the difference between accreditation and registration?

The term ‘registration’ is associated with the right to practice. The term ‘accreditation’ is associated with the ability to practice. Providers are registered with the Department of Education, and are accredited by an ETQA. Qualifications are registered by SAQA on the NQF. Learning Programmes are accredited by an ETQA.

What is the difference between a qualification and a learning programme?

A qualification is an outcome of learning; whereas a learning programme is the process one embarks on to fulfill requirements to achieve the outcome. Providers offer learning programmes that lead to qualifications.

What is SAQA?

SAQA is the South African Qualifications Authority. There is no such thing as accreditation from SAQA. The role of SAQA is to register qualifications on the NQF.

What is the NQF?

The NQF is the National Qualifications Framework. The purpose of the NQF is to give national recognition to those who have acquired skills and knowledge. SAQA coordinates processes and structures to register qualifications on the NQF.

What is an ETQA?

An ETQA is a SAQA-accredited Education & Training Quality Assurance Body.  ETQA’s are responsible for monitoring and auditing standards of providers and qualifications within their areas of scope.

What is FET?

FET is Further Education and Training.  FET consists of education and training from levels 2-4 on the NQF.  FET includes national technical qualifications that are vocationally or occupationally directed.

What is HE?

HE is Higher Education and refers to learning programmes that are higher than NQF level 4.

What is a SETA?

SETA stands for Sector Education and Training Authority. A SETA’s main purpose is to contribute to the improvement of skills in South Africa.  At present there are 23 SETAs that service the various sectors and industries in South Africa. In addition, each SETA has been registered by SAQA as the ETQA for their sector(s).

What is Umalusi?

Umalusi is the Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education & Training.  Umalusi is an ETQA and is responsible for ensuring that education and training providers deliver and assess qualifications and learning programmes to set standards of quality. Providers that offer programmes across a variety of sectors apply to Umalusi for accreditation.

What is CHE?

CHE is the Council on Higher Education. The CHE is responsible for quality assurance in Higher Education.

What is a skills programme?

A skills programme is a short learning programme that is occupationally-based and when completed, provides a learner with credits towards an NQF qualification. It is made up of one or more unit standards that are found within a qualification.

What is a short programme?

A short programme is a programme that contains less than 120 credits Some short programmes are aligned with Unit standards on the NQF and others are not.

What is a learnership?

A learnership is not a qualification. It is a structured learning programme that includes provider-based training and workplace experience. Learnerships have replaced the previous system of apprenticeships. They are offered through workplaces and are registered and coordinated through SETA’s.

What is a Unit Standard?

FET qualifications are made up of a number of unit standards. Unit standards provide the basis for judgments and assessments that are made for specific areas of learning (similar to modules, but more focused).

What is RPL?

RPL stands for Recognition of Prior Learning. This is applied in order to formally recognize a person’s knowledge or skills obtained through formal or informal training, or through on-the-job or life experience.